HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: NCIX Tech Tips

Geforce GTX 1060 - MSI Gaming X Review

4670 ratings | 405715 views
The Geforce GTX 1060 is officially launched, and it's taking on the Radeon RX 480 headfirst. So, does it negate any reason to buy the 480? Well.. surprisingly, not entirely! Buy the MSI Gaming X Geforce GTX 1060: Canada: http://www.ncix.com/detail/msi-geforce-gtx-1060-twin-89-133514.htm Other GTX 1060s: http://www.ncix.com/search/?qcatid=0&q=gtx+1060 Hardware Canucks' full written review: http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/73040-nvidia-gtx-1060-6gb-review.html See news sources + discuss on our Forums: http://www.ncix.com/article/NMG.htm?url=http://forums.ncix.com/ Social Media: Instagram(NCIX Tech Tips): https://instagram.com/ncixtechtips Twitter (NCIX Tech Tips): https://twitter.com/ncixtechtips ​Twitter (Official NCIX): https://twitter.com/ncixdotcom/ Instagram(Official NCIX): https://instagram.com/ncixdotcom/ Facebook: https://facebook.com/ncixdotcom/ Episode Credits: Host: Riley Murdock Writer: Riley Murdock Editor: Barret Murdock
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1447)
عماد نظری (6 days ago)
I'm happy that I want to buy this graphics card but the dollar has increased in my country and because of this I could not afford to buy it.
عماد نظری (6 days ago)
I was 8 months old trying to buy this graphics card
Andrei Fatu (19 days ago)
Its working if i want a SLI with 2 videocards , msi geforce 1060 6gb?
Andrei Fatu (19 days ago)
Best one that i use!
Android Mode (29 days ago)
This is a dream guys, I really want to build up full high-end computer
Peter Klick (1 month ago)
Phenomenal card. I originally bought a XFX RX 580 8 gig and it ran hot often even with good airflow. Died after three weeks. Replaced it with a MSI GTX 1060 6 gig and I'm floored by the cool temps and excellent performance on ultra settings in everything I threw at it. Never looking back.
Alpha Gaming (1 month ago)
MSI GTX 1060 6gb all day
Heike Nadolph (1 month ago)
why would you review a custom graphics card? wtf
Amario master (4 months ago)
Dude its $450 dollars. not freaking $200
Fade Paladin (8 months ago)
Can someone let me know if this build is good and have enough power and all the parts are compatible https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/GRCISTTZE0BQ
Kryptical (7 months ago)
here is a build similar to yours but MUCH MUCH better, https://pcpartpicker.com/list/qdBDbj
Kryptical (7 months ago)
what is your budget? Ill make you a good build
Kryptical (7 months ago)
1. you dont need a 650w psu, 450-550 will be fine 2. you dont need the 6gb variant of the 1060 unless you play at 1440p+ 3. id suggest getting a higher quality motherboard 4. get a ryzen 5 1600 instead because its cheaper, has more core and threads and is going to be supported longer
RandomPerson (8 months ago)
4:20 It's because a lot of games don't support SLI and it uses an insane amount of power. Like you need a pretty beefy PSU if you're going to run four GPU's.
Ondris Bartos (9 months ago)
how coe ppl watch this faggoty man still? i definetly not
Sigma Stuff (6 months ago)
You're gay!
Kryptical (7 months ago)
your english...
Krishanu Joarder (9 months ago)
Will the MSI GTX 1060 gaming X fit in a Antec Gx 900 cabinet?
Kryptical (7 months ago)
i suggest you email the cabinet manufacture and ask them
yiannis savvides (10 months ago)
can I install this on my Lenovo 310 ?
demorippa (11 months ago)
All I need to know ow is what build should I use to only play league
Kryptical (7 months ago)
this build will do league and much other games at 60fps + https://pcpartpicker.com/list/jJJ7D8
Petar Stankovic (1 year ago)
1060 costs ~20% more, but it has ~10+% better performance? What about power consumption, it spends less than 480, so over its lifetime 1060 will be both *cheaper* and better performing, regardless of opinions. Yet I see AMD fanboys spamming nonsense in comments... how.. why?
DC Minion (1 year ago)
i can't find the rx 480 sogtx 1060 it is
Rlyzion Knight (1 year ago)
Ummm, Try to revisit RX 480 with new drivers, it beats 1060 8/10 :'v
dc Ventrix (1 year ago)
I just bought one for 200$
XeflexPlays (1 year ago)
I'm so confused rn... Can you run this with an AMD Ryzen 5 1600x?
No U Infinity x2 (1 year ago)
Can it use the "new" 3.0 shadowplay?
13fx (1 year ago)
Stupid my PS4 has 500gb and this only has 6 and how is PC better?
Joe Salamone 🔥 (5 months ago)
13fx just stop
A Romeh (1 year ago)
Steve carell get the hell out of his body
M.R Penguin YT (1 year ago)
can this thing run any game on a high resolution /ultra and good fps with a asus Strix Z270F Gaming LGA 1151 ATX motherboard 8 gb ram and a intel core i5 ?
M.R Penguin YT (1 year ago)
thanks
Volt - Gaming (1 year ago)
Mine Tube62 yes
Darkople (1 year ago)
gtx beata fucking amd shit
Greve von Dy (1 year ago)
How do you remove the red things that protect the HDMI and Displayports?
Ashwin Ramesh (1 year ago)
In India the MSI RX 580 costs 403$ and the MSI gtx 1060 costs 387$... so the obvious choice is the 1060
Hardik MAHAJAN (1 year ago)
i got it for200$
Punk_ Unicorn (1 year ago)
im trying to make a build with this but im scared if this has led ... does it?
Volt - Gaming (1 year ago)
Punk_ Unicorn depends which one you get
Chris Bullock (1 year ago)
Wow....while comparing these benchmarks, on the most current video by JazytwoCents, comparing the RX 580 in tomb raider the FPS was 78fps vs. 76FPS and the 480 had 71fps on Ultra Settings......??????? soooo why such a big difference??
TriplosX (1 year ago)
Yesterday I was going to buy a GTX 1050 Ti because I was on a budget, then today I was going to buy an RX 470, a few moments later an RX 480 and a couple of hourse later, now I think I'll go with the 1060
very educational pug (1 year ago)
Would you need a cooler for oc mode? Or could you just do it with no consequences
Radiv0j (1 year ago)
I GOT THAT MONSTER IN MY PC !
hi, im kev (1 year ago)
The only reason that the rx 480 can beat the gtx 1060 is because they use their own software for the physics engine for like hairs and stuff. Its like the PhyX engine in Nvidia
Not-Ken (1 year ago)
What other specs should I get to run this graphics card? Ram? Power supply?
Tony Approves (1 year ago)
J-Day 500w psu and 8-16gb of ram
aditya yadav (1 year ago)
I just got a manufactured refurbished for 210 dollars. is that a good price?
Volt - Gaming (1 year ago)
aditya yadav yes u saved 40 dollars
RayBerry (1 year ago)
When the Gtx 1060 is cheaper than the rx 480 in your country . . . . . 👌
Mr Classic (1 year ago)
Is it true that some msi cards have an issue with the fans not working properly? i just bought my msi gtx 1060 6gb and im concerned.
Volt - Gaming (1 year ago)
Mr Classic if it does send it back and MSI gives you new one
RedHot (1 year ago)
RX 480 is kinda ugly.
Gtx1060 overclocked couldn't even beat rx470 reference in Doom Vulkan... shows how bad AMD potential is... kappa
francis patrick (1 year ago)
Bought this card. getting screen tearing with the witcher 3 at the lowest settings 😧
francis patrick (1 year ago)
Syuna RMA'd the card and it now works perfectly :)
Syuna (1 year ago)
turn on vsync
Benjamin Valmont (1 year ago)
There's an E missing on your shirt :D - Kidding
GP Patrol (1 year ago)
but I only play overwatch, CSGO, and like the crew. I'll buy a 980
Ian Darmetko (1 year ago)
I just ordered this along with some other stuff to upgrade my fathers toaster of a PC and now I think I'm going to give him my 970 and take the 1060 I ordered for him lmao. I didn't realize it was that much better 15%+ overall with some even pushing almost 20% over the 970. Good stuff.
Shiro (1 year ago)
hey could i run a 2 moniter set off of one msi gtx 1060 cuz im not sure
Horst Hon (1 year ago)
fuck this guy, linus is better
André Henriques (1 year ago)
Hi, can someone tell me if i can fit  MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6gb inside a Rog G20 cb desktop! I have said desktop and i am not sure if i should buy the card! Other thing is where can i get na 8 pin power conector in or outside Portugal! My current card is GTX 960 2gb.
AceXBullydrake (1 year ago)
does every graphics card comes with converter?
Sierra Meow (1 year ago)
u look so handsome <3
hisokiss (1 year ago)
can it support 27 inch monitor with 144hz? will I get fair FPS like 60fps on games like Assassins Creed 3, dota2 and CSGO on max resolution?
If you want 50 dollars less than I say go for a GTX 1060 windforce oc
Kevin Xu (1 year ago)
aesthetic
IRON FILMS PRODUCTION (1 year ago)
hi sir dose msi gtx 1060 is better then asus strix gtx 1060 oc edition please need help ?
Hantu Seram (1 year ago)
a bit late to the party but in my country, price of gtx 1060 6gb is the same as rx 480 4gb at around $250. Should I buy 1060 or 480?for 1080P gaming
ethn (1 year ago)
1060
Johnny Zhang (1 year ago)
Guys I need help. Will this graphics card fit in my Alienware x51
ethn (1 year ago)
Are you autistic?
ethn (1 year ago)
Are you autistic?
Max Hammerum (1 year ago)
I MUST HAVE THIS FOR XMAS!!!
Rebirth Fire (1 year ago)
This or the Armour OC version?
Bradonium (1 year ago)
tbh the 1060 is the only good graphics card near me so i have no choice at least it performs well XD
KillerReign _ (1 year ago)
I would not OC the 480 nor Crossfire it if I were anyone with it...Just saying, Safety first.
Miniraise (1 year ago)
What power pin slot does the msi 1060 use?
Pancake Lizard (1 year ago)
8 pin
kaleb Powell (1 year ago)
is the msi gtx 1060x good for a starting gaming PC
Volt - Gaming (1 year ago)
kaleb Powell yup
CMoiFelix (1 year ago)
Lol in Canada most of the 1060 are cheaper than the RX 480
Daniel B (1 year ago)
$199 for MSI 470 4gb $259 for MSI 1060 6gb. I'm playing at 1600x900 with plans for either a 1080p or 1080p ultra wide in the future, not sure what to get
Pancake Lizard (1 year ago)
Is this the same size as the msi gtx 1050 ti
Tanmay Umtol (1 year ago)
All I need is 60Fps. I dont want less than that should i get this card?
thejstone2002 (1 year ago)
Tanmay Umtol you will get much more than 60 fps at 1080p
willepille1 (1 year ago)
Well will i have 200+ fps in csgo IF i have shit settings?
Volt - Gaming (1 year ago)
mememanWiLLE oh yea
polymoon (1 year ago)
choosing between i7 and a msi1060 or a i5 and a msi1070.. :/
rick m (1 year ago)
+mauricio loves noise that was a good move my friend i was gonna suggest that
polymoon (1 year ago)
yeah man got i7 and a 1060 because i tend to play more open world games so i decided to go with a better cpu
rick m (1 year ago)
mauricio loves noise have you decided
Joseph O'Connor (1 year ago)
I've a question...this is coming from a person just about to create his first rig. I've got this graphics card, that's all...but, I've got the following items in my cart. I'm just wondering would they all go well together. RAM: Kingston HyperX FURY 16GB Kit (2x8GB) 1600MHz DDR3 MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3 PSU: EVGA 600 B1, 80+ BRONZE 600W and CPU: Intel Core i5 6500 3.20 GHz Quad Core Skylak all wrapped up in a cheap Zalman ATX Mid Tower PC Case Z1 Neo case... Sound okay?
Xander Chamorro (1 year ago)
Sounds good to me, really good actually. If you are not sure about the compatibility then run it through Part Picker https://pcpartpicker.com/ You did not mention an hdd or sdd (even though I am aware you probably know this and have stuff picked out). I would suggest and sdd, but if you are trying to save money then get a Western Digital tb or two, and a cheap Kingston SDD (120 gb is the cheapest), then just have your system run through the sdd.
♛ Huffdaddy™ (1 year ago)
is a 'gtx 1060 6gb' a big upgrade compared to a 'gtx 960 4gb'
NewHamsters (1 year ago)
The 1060 is about 80% to 100% faster than the 960.
MrHiglon (1 year ago)
Can someone tell me how large it is or if the retail information includes the whole thing with the framing for the screws or just the chip itself. If it is 28cm in total it would be dandy but if it's just the chip i have to pass. Have a good one
Issam El mejdoub (1 year ago)
i think this is good https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01IEKYD5U/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B01IEKYD5U&linkCode=as2&tag=issam06-20&linkId=5acb0d76bfe069f68bbdc6326c60ea46
Carry Me Anego (1 year ago)
In My country, RX 480 is freaking expansive...idk why :/
Gianfranco Boz Magni (1 year ago)
Can someone tell me why, when i start the pc, and i open msi afterburner i see that my gpu core is at 200 mhz and memory at 400? I have a msi gtx 1060 gaming X and a i5 6600, it's a new pc, and i do not have idea about overclocking, gpu and cpu speeds, i just downloaded msi afterburner to see the fps and temperatures. Does the gpu speed auto control itself and get higher when i start to play? Thanks :P
Pulkv3dis (1 year ago)
Hi! I have one question. I have pc with Motherboard MSI military class 4 H81M-P33 and processor I5-4460. Can this video card support my pc. (MSI GTX 1060 GAMING X 3G)
ShqWZen2k17 (1 year ago)
I am the 158 th disliker :D
Reply to this comment if you want me to tell you how to get the 1060 3gb and the 6bg model for 30+ dollars less :)
Eduardus Adrian (1 year ago)
should i buy this on 3gb or 6gb zotac
gustav lønning (1 year ago)
I have 970 mother board amd fx cpu 8 core and geforce gtx 1060 i cant get any performanc in games but it runs benchmarks good do you know what i can do to fix this i have all the new drivers too
D0ppelgangeR (1 year ago)
should i get this card or saphire rx 480 nitro+ 8gb?
Aaron H (1 year ago)
Should i still buy this ? :D
ramza813 (1 year ago)
hate this Linus hipster rip off
SinXile (1 year ago)
Those results at the start are so fuKin fake.
Carver (1 year ago)
I clicked the link in the card and it says you guys are selling it for $430. In the video it says $299. Wtf dude?
Matias Enriquez (1 year ago)
i have a intel core i7 3770, do you think I will have a bottleneck if I make a crossfire with two rx 480 8gb?
Hirokjyoti Deka (1 year ago)
you'll be fine. but keep in mind about powersupply and heat.
TC MACK (1 year ago)
Hi, does it matter what Intel Core I have in my laptop or do I need to have a certain one to be able to use this??? If so, I have an Intel Core i5 4200u CPU @ 1.60GHz 2.30GHz. Thx :)
SIGGEMAESTRO (1 year ago)
In Sweden its 550 $
The Legendary Ravioli (1 year ago)
Maybe i'll get msi 1060 4 used :)
Pradyumna Iyer (1 year ago)
I can get a GTX 1060 and an RX 480 for the same price. Would go with the 1060
Cyansley (1 year ago)
While people complaining on installing Intel CPUs with an AMD graphics card, here I am with an ASUS graphics card installed on an MSI motherboard
JDMH (1 year ago)
stop putting that stupid voice on
Ruthless (1 year ago)
Would a GTX 1060 run and fit a ASUS Z97-P, Socket-1150 Bundkort, ATX, Z97, DDR3, 2xPCIe-x16, VGA, DVI, HDMI, M.2, Fan Xpert 2+?
GravelsNotAFood (1 year ago)
I litterally just found an elderly couple selling 2 Msi gtx 1070s still in the box at $80 dollars a piece.
IggyDoesStuff (1 year ago)
If I could find a deal like that I would shit my pants
Xafe Mode (1 year ago)
+GravelsNotAFood awsome. Have fun!
GravelsNotAFood (1 year ago)
+Xafe Mode Thanks! Be sure to keep this thread unmuted. If I plan on selling, you'll be the first to hear of it. 
Xafe Mode (1 year ago)
+GravelsNotAFood its cool, you got one heck of a deal, so use it!
GravelsNotAFood (1 year ago)
+Xafe Mode Sorry, I'm planning on using both in SLI. I'm just waiting for my new i7 6700k from Newegg.  My old I5 would have bottlenecked it. Perhaps when/if the 1080 TI comes out, I'd be more willing to sell both. But for now. Sorry, but no.
EvoSvex (1 year ago)
What should i get for 250e?
Doomguy (1 year ago)
480 and 1060 cost the same in my region, so it's a no brainer to go 1060.
Ruthless (1 year ago)
Okay so I have benn looking at the GTX 1060. The problem is thought, that I don't know which of the 1060 versions to get. What would you recommend? -GTX 1060 MSI Gaming X -GTX 1060 MSI Armor -GTX 1060 Strix -GTX 1060 Strix OC Please type which card and why you would choe it. Thanks :)
ThreeWrap (1 year ago)
how much more performance would I be looking at from upgrading my current gtx 670 to the 1060?
enteryourtexthere (1 year ago)
Everyone is defending the 480 but actually lots of people dont know that AMD cards are fucking dangerous. If they overheat it can litteraly burn down a house. They can reach higher tempratures than NVIDIA cards.
Mehraj Islam (1 year ago)
So what's the difference between this gaming x 1060 and the msi gtx 1060 armor ? Is the armor good for gaming ?
The milk man (1 year ago)
This one vs ASUS GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Strix Gaming (NO OC) Im stuck between these cards! HELP
TechMage299 (1 year ago)
so if i wanted to buy two 1060's it would be pointless due to the missing SLI Bridge as he explained? im new to building pc's so i dont know much
DunkinNugget (1 year ago)
I got the gtx TF 6 3GB card O.o there seems to be no videos on it though O.o

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.